IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

8 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Making your own Koloboks, Getting started with Ulead GIF Animator
Fugz
post Feb 24 2007, 11:52 AM
Post #21


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 175
Joined: 10.02.2007
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 1,955



Okay another few dumb questions...... I think I am making progress but some basics still elude me. These are very Gif Aminator biased.....

If I make an object within Ulead Gif Animator, by inserting a blank object, and making, say, a bar of chocolate (yum), is there an easy way (any way) to get that object into a later new project?

Is there a way to pin an object in position in a frame? I had thought that "lock" might do this :S I know I can just duplicate a fram as many times as I want it and turn objects on/off....... but it would be great to be able to lock certain key parts of some frames.

This anti-liasing thing....... where does that occur? In the graphics program where the initial objects/gifs are made? And does this mean you need a set of "dark bodies and dark hands" and a set of "light bodies and light hands".........

Any answers greatly appreciated smile.gif TY.



--------------------
If at first you do succeed, try not to look too astonished.


Go to the top of the page
Add Name in post
+Quote Post
Just Cuz
post Feb 24 2007, 12:53 PM
Post #22


Advanced Member
Group Icon

Group: Artist
Posts: 1,164
Joined: 26.02.2006
From: United States
Member No.: 195



QUOTE(Fugz)
Okay another few dumb questions
As a teacher, you should be familar with the cliché: "The only dumb question is the one you don't ask." acute.gif


QUOTE(Fugz)
If I make an object within Ulead Gif Animator, by inserting a blank object, and making, say, a bar of chocolate (yum), is there an easy way (any way) to get that object into a later new project?
You can save the image (by itself) either as a GIF or UGA file and then drop/insert it into a new animation.
Personally, I do most of my drawing in a separate graphics program because Ulead doesn't have as many tools available for doing the job. Plus, I'm more accustomed to using MSPaint for that anyway.


QUOTE(Fugz)
Is there a way to pin an object in position in a frame? I had thought that "lock" might do this :S I know I can just duplicate a fram as many times as I want it and turn objects on/off....... but it would be great to be able to lock certain key parts of some frames.
"Lock" does exactly that - but only for the frame(s) you set it in - not the entire animation - unless you set it in one frame and then duplicate the rest.


QUOTE(Fugz)
This anti-liasing thing....... where does that occur? In the graphics program where the initial objects/gifs are made? And does this mean you need a set of "dark bodies and dark hands" and a set of "light bodies and light hands".........
In general, only the base/body is antialiased. Smaller objects like hands and such usually aren't because they don't have large curved or diagonal edges. And for example, you wouldn't need to use antialiasing on a building or wall in the background because they have straight edges. However if you wanted to have a smiley standing under a rainbow, you'd likely use it then since the rainbow is curved.
Within Ulead, the only time you'd probably use an antialiasing function is if you're adding text to an object.



--------------------
Aiwan is my hero.
Go to the top of the page
Add Name in post
+Quote Post
Fugz
post Mar 2 2007, 11:32 AM
Post #23


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 175
Joined: 10.02.2007
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 1,955



I seem to have lost my way..... ARGH..........
i JUST wanted to make a smilie walk across the screen left to right..... no change in expression - just forwards. Base and eyes and mouth. I made all 3 objects - combined them in a frame dragging them into position.... but then what's the best way to move to the right.... dupicate the frame - and ?
Can I lock all 3 parts together and move them one square to the right? Or do I have to move all 3 independently? Or do I make an object that is all 3 combined and just select that and move it by hand?
Whatever I try I end up moving "jumpily" or not keeping the objects all together with respect to each other. bomb.gif

I am still drawing in the animator because I can't figure out transparency in paint :S


--------------------
If at first you do succeed, try not to look too astonished.


Go to the top of the page
Add Name in post
+Quote Post
Just Cuz
post Mar 2 2007, 06:22 PM
Post #24


Advanced Member
Group Icon

Group: Artist
Posts: 1,164
Joined: 26.02.2006
From: United States
Member No.: 195



You won't use the "lock" feature in this instance because it keeps the objects in the same place with respect to the canvas.

What you want to do is select all three objects (highlight all three in the object panel) and either move them together OR in this case, once they're highlighted you can right-click and choose "combine as single object" which willl make them easier to move. However - there is no uncombine, so once you do that, you can't move the items independently any more.


--------------------
Aiwan is my hero.
Go to the top of the page
Add Name in post
+Quote Post
Fugz
post Mar 2 2007, 10:39 PM
Post #25


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 175
Joined: 10.02.2007
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 1,955



Ah well TY - you have made me feel a little better because I did try to make 3 duplicate objects, and put them in same frame and combined them - so I was going along the right lines. But I did learn about the inability to uncombine, becase when I combined them it seems i must have made 2 duplicates and used one original coz object a bit of the face disappeared out of all my previous frames.........
Argh! At least I haven't missed something really obvious.

TY again for your help.


--------------------
If at first you do succeed, try not to look too astonished.


Go to the top of the page
Add Name in post
+Quote Post
Fugz
post Mar 3 2007, 05:35 AM
Post #26


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 175
Joined: 10.02.2007
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 1,955



Not quite right but am I getting the general idea?




This post has been edited by Fugz: Mar 3 2007, 05:42 AM


--------------------
If at first you do succeed, try not to look too astonished.


Go to the top of the page
Add Name in post
+Quote Post
Just Cuz
post Mar 4 2007, 06:28 PM
Post #27


Advanced Member
Group Icon

Group: Artist
Posts: 1,164
Joined: 26.02.2006
From: United States
Member No.: 195




You're on your way. wink.gif



--------------------
Aiwan is my hero.
Go to the top of the page
Add Name in post
+Quote Post
Fugz
post Mar 12 2007, 12:14 PM
Post #28


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 175
Joined: 10.02.2007
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 1,955



I have hit a BLOCK - my inability to create an object with a transparent background. All methods seem very complicated from my surfing. Masks and stuff....... I don't have time to read the manual or take a course in using a big complicated graphics program.
Did I read you where you said you did in "Paint"? Or is that paintshop pro?
All I draw is on white.......
And I can't keep trying to colour in pixel by pixel in Gif Animator!!
I really want to to draw a lava lamp or an egg timer for my smilie - with the same sort of depth to the edges as the jar with the smilie who tries to escape.....


--------------------
If at first you do succeed, try not to look too astonished.


Go to the top of the page
Add Name in post
+Quote Post
Billy
post Mar 16 2007, 03:32 PM
Post #29


Member
*

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 16.03.2007
From: .... The Wardrobe
Member No.: 2,009



So....
How does one go about doing all of this using a Mac ?
My operating system is Mac OS X v 10.4.8 Tiger big_boss.gif or have I missed something in the preceding posts, which is quite possible, sad.gif and I can assure you that any help here would be much appreciated biggrin.gif

Many thanks,

Billy

This post has been edited by Billy: Mar 17 2007, 01:47 AM


--------------------


Go to the top of the page
Add Name in post
+Quote Post
Fugz
post Mar 18 2007, 03:08 AM
Post #30


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 175
Joined: 10.02.2007
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 1,955



A Kiwi here.
See Koloboks are taking over "down under" as well............


--------------------
If at first you do succeed, try not to look too astonished.


Go to the top of the page
Add Name in post
+Quote Post
Billy
post Mar 18 2007, 06:22 AM
Post #31


Member
*

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 16.03.2007
From: .... The Wardrobe
Member No.: 2,009



Hi Fugz

They are, well at least for me they are good.gif

I think they are awesome, there is no comparison, now all I have to do now is dedicate some time to figure out, how to create them and share my ideas here.

I have Photoshop/ImageReady CS2 installed, any ideas on what else I need, bearing in mind of course. I'm all Mac big_boss.gif orientated here, nothing Micro$oft.... biggrin.gif


--------------------


Go to the top of the page
Add Name in post
+Quote Post
Just Cuz
post Apr 1 2007, 11:10 PM
Post #32


Advanced Member
Group Icon

Group: Artist
Posts: 1,164
Joined: 26.02.2006
From: United States
Member No.: 195



QUOTE(Fugz @ Mar 12 2007, 12:14 PM) [snapback]6108[/snapback]
I have hit a BLOCK - my inability to create an object with a transparent background. All methods seem very complicated from my surfing. Masks and stuff....... I don't have time to read the manual or take a course in using a big complicated graphics program.
Did I read you where you said you did in "Paint"? Or is that paintshop pro?
All I draw is on white.......
And I can't keep trying to colour in pixel by pixel in Gif Animator!!
I really want to to draw a lava lamp or an egg timer for my smilie - with the same sort of depth to the edges as the jar with the smilie who tries to escape.....

Yes, I do most of my drawing with good ol' MSPaint, then save as BMP and open with Ulead. The trick is to use a backgorund color that WON'T be used in your image. So if you want white eyes, don't use a white background.

After opening the object in Ulead, highlight it in the 'Object Manager Panel' and then use the "Magic Wand" in the tools panel to select the background - then just click DELETE and *poof* no more background! smile.gif


@ Billy - sorry, but I have never used a Mac. I believe Ulead only runs on Windows systems. But I'm sure there are other software programs available for you.


--------------------
Aiwan is my hero.
Go to the top of the page
Add Name in post
+Quote Post
Fugz
post Apr 2 2007, 07:42 AM
Post #33


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 175
Joined: 10.02.2007
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 1,955



I will try this weekend - got 2 weeks holidays - time to start doing some things I like doing instead of work!!! hi.gif Appreciate the answer.


--------------------
If at first you do succeed, try not to look too astonished.


Go to the top of the page
Add Name in post
+Quote Post
Just Cuz
post Apr 2 2007, 08:51 AM
Post #34


Advanced Member
Group Icon

Group: Artist
Posts: 1,164
Joined: 26.02.2006
From: United States
Member No.: 195




Oh, I forgot to mention that when you use the wand, "Similarity" should be set to 0 (zero) and anti-aliasing should NOT be ticked. declare.gif


--------------------
Aiwan is my hero.
Go to the top of the page
Add Name in post
+Quote Post
prince
post Apr 9 2007, 10:08 PM
Post #35


Member
*

Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 09.04.2007
Member No.: 2,057



good.gif

thanks for all interesting tutorial here...i might give it a try also someday...who knows... nea.gif

This post has been edited by prince: Apr 9 2007, 10:09 PM


--------------------


Go to the top of the page
Add Name in post
+Quote Post
Fugz
post Apr 11 2007, 12:49 AM
Post #36


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 175
Joined: 10.02.2007
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 1,955



The wand bit worked but I haven't tried the extra instructions yet.
My drawings are all so clunky and clumsy.
I am still trying to make a empty lava lamp. Maybe that's too ambitious for Paint?


--------------------
If at first you do succeed, try not to look too astonished.


Go to the top of the page
Add Name in post
+Quote Post
Just Cuz
post Apr 11 2007, 03:21 AM
Post #37


Advanced Member
Group Icon

Group: Artist
Posts: 1,164
Joined: 26.02.2006
From: United States
Member No.: 195



I made this lava lamp using MSPaint.

                      

The dancing girl is Aiwan's, of course.

Edited to replace image with less crude version.

This post has been edited by Just Cuz: Apr 13 2007, 05:24 PM


--------------------
Aiwan is my hero.
Go to the top of the page
Add Name in post
+Quote Post
Fugz
post Apr 13 2007, 03:00 AM
Post #38


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 175
Joined: 10.02.2007
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 1,955



Sigh
I don't suppose you'd lend me your empty lamp for my project plz. Crude or not is better that I could do.
Had to do a kinda reformat / restore a bit of an image - and I am floundering in despair as I try to remember what programs I need to reinstall, where I put them.... and what i have lost!


--------------------
If at first you do succeed, try not to look too astonished.


Go to the top of the page
Add Name in post
+Quote Post
Just Cuz
post Apr 13 2007, 05:35 PM
Post #39


Advanced Member
Group Icon

Group: Artist
Posts: 1,164
Joined: 26.02.2006
From: United States
Member No.: 195



Ok, here's an empty lamp:


But in order to get the 'effect', you'll need to download the UGA file. Attached File  Lava_Lamp.zip ( 9.52K ) Number of downloads: 786


It's in two layers - you add your images/objects between the Foreground and Background layers.

Here's another example:


This post has been edited by Just Cuz: Aug 9 2007, 04:34 AM


--------------------
Aiwan is my hero.
Go to the top of the page
Add Name in post
+Quote Post
Fugz
post Apr 13 2007, 10:16 PM
Post #40


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 175
Joined: 10.02.2007
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 1,955



If i right click I can save target as 1Lava_Lamp.uga.htm or save pic as emptylamp.gif
I am assuming neither is right.

AHHHHH ok (edited) - got it - left click!!! TY

As for this layers stuff, thats in gif animator somewhere? Right? Can't see yet

This post has been edited by Fugz: Apr 13 2007, 10:20 PM


--------------------
If at first you do succeed, try not to look too astonished.


Go to the top of the page
Add Name in post
+Quote Post

8 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th September 2017 - 07:26 AM